Music With Ease

Music with Ease > Classical Music > Concert Guide: Baroque Era > Suite No 3 (J S Bach)

Suite No 3

Johann Sebastian Bach

The movements of Bach's Third Suite, in D, are the Overture, Air, two Gavottes, Bourrée, and Gigue. The Overture begins with a Grave, which leads to the Vivace, a free fugue, after the development of which a Grave occurs, but with different treatment. The Vivace as a whole and the second Grave complete the Overture. The Air, second movement, is the most familiar and beautiful feature of the suite and is often played by solo violin with piano acompaniment, as "Air for the G String." It is a continous flow of sweet melody, its two strains being several times repeated. The two Gavottes, which correspond to the Minuet and Trio of the old symphonies, and constitute the third movement of the Suite, are very characteristic. The second, which is given out in unison in the whole orchestra, is followed by a repetition of the first and is entirely independent of it. The fourth movement, Bourrée, is a gay and sprightly in character. The Gigue, which concludes the suite, as its name indicates, is a still livelier and more rollicking dance than any of the others and leaves the listener in a genial mood.

Search this Site




See also:
Middle Ages Music
Renaissance Music
Baroque Era Music
Classical Era Music
Romantic Era Music
Nationalist Era Music
Turn of Century Music

Music With Ease | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy | Sitemap | Copyright | Terms of Use

© 2005-18 All Rights Reserved.