Music With Ease

Music with Ease > Classical Music > Concert Guide: Romantic Era > Symphony No. 7, in E Major - Bruckner

Symphony No. 7, in E Major

Anton Bruckner

1. Allegro moderato.

2. Adagio: sehr feierlich und langsam.

3. Scherzo: allegro.

4. Finale: bewegt, doch nicht schnell.

Bruckner's Seventh Symphony was first performed in Leipzig, December 30, 1884, and was played for the first time in America in New York, July 29, 1886, under Theodore Thomas' direction. The opening theme of the first movement is stated by the cellos, supported by the violas and clarinets. It is then repeated by the violins and woodwinds, and leads up to the second theme, given out by oboe and clarinet. In the fantasia, both themes are worked up most skilfully, and are followed by the Finale, which is complicated though regular in form, and closes with an impressive climax.

The second movement, an Adagio is based upon a most impressive theme nobly worked out, and of a nature to appeal even to the uneducated hearer. Though treated most elaborately, the contents of the Adagio are very emotional, and the coloring so beautiful as to appeal to everyone. The Scherzo is in regular form, and the opening is full of spirit and vivacity. The first violins give out the theme of the trio, and the movement closes with a repetition of the first part.

The last movement is in rondo form, the violins giving out a brilliant theme, worked up in a fascinating manner, and leading into a second theme of a more solid nature, also stated by the first violins. The movement closes with a powerful climax, in which the opening theme of the first movement is heard again.

Search this Site




See also:
Middle Ages Music
Renaissance Music
Baroque Era Music
Classical Era Music
Romantic Era Music
Nationalist Era Music
Turn of Century Music

Music With Ease | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy | Sitemap | Copyright | Terms of Use

© 2005-18 All Rights Reserved.